“We are proud of Brotherhood Winery’s rich heritage, and today continue to provide quality products using eco-friendly energy, high-end technology, and a great winemaking team.”
The Brotherhood ownership team's commitment to improving one of the Hudson Valley’s premier wineries, and dedication to the production of a new line of award-winning premium wines, is building the winery’s reputation far beyond the Hudson Valley and the American wine market.
John Jaques, a cobbler by trade, began growing native grapes in his backyard in Washingtonville, NY in 1824.
In 1839, he turned toward making wine, releasing his first commercial vintage that year, under the label “Blooming Grove Winery.”
Wine merchants Jesse and Edward Emerson purchased the winery in 1886. They quickly expanded to accommodate increased production of table wines, brandies and sherries, and distilled spirits.
They also focused on champagnes, made in the traditional French style known as methodé champenoise.methodé champenoise
As previous agents for the upstate religious community known as the “Brotherhood of New Life,” the Emersons renamed the new facility the “Brotherhood Wine Company” to capitalize on the success of the Brotherhood brand name and reputation.
Emerson broadened the business by establishing a shipping point and headquarters in New York City, and obtaining vineyards and wine cellars in Hammondsport, NY.
With its modern facilities and continued commitment to quality, Brotherhood’s sales increased exponentially well into the 20th century.
Even with the rise of the Temperance Movement, the Brotherhood Wine Company continued to prosper, until Prohibition was enacted in 1920.